BPMB Award of Group Undergraduate Scholarship (BAGUS)

undergraduate-2023-EN undergraduate-2023-EN

Bank Pembangunan Malaysia Berhad (Bank Pembangunan) is dedicated to nurturing promising Malaysian talents who will play a pivotal role in advancing the nation's development agenda through our BPMB Award of Group's Undergraduate Scholarship (BAGUS) programme.

Open to Malaysia's outstanding students, the BAGUS programme offers opportunities to pursue undergraduate degrees in banking-related disciplines at prestigious universities in locally and abroad. To be eligible, applicants must meet the criteria listed below:

  • Citizen of Malaysia
  • Age at least 17 years old and not more than 23 years old.
  • Completed Pre-university/Foundation/Matriculation/Diploma program and achieved excellent examination results in any of the following:
    • STPM / A-Level: Minimum of 3As
    • Diploma / Matriculation: Minimum Cumulative Grade Point Average (CGPA) of 3.50
    • Australian Matriculation: Minimum ATAR of 80%
    • American Foundation Programme: Minimum SAT score of 1,200
  • SPM: Minimum 7As in Sijil Pelajaran Malaysia or equivalent.
  • Possess good interpersonal and communication skills.
  • Ability to demonstrate leadership qualities and potential.
  • Actively involved in extra-curricular activities and sports.
  • Applicants must not be a recipient of any other scholarship or award from other organizations/foundations.
  • Application from undergraduate students in year 1 will also be considered.

Our scholarship recipients will have access to world-class education, covering fields such as:

  1. Business (Accounting, Business & Finance, Business Administration, Human Resource Management, Economics)
  2. Engineering and Technology (Engineering, Information Systems, Information and Communication Technology (ICT), Computer Science, Data Analyst)
  3. Other Banking-related Study (Actuarial Science, Mathematics, Statistics, Law, Shariah-related, Political Science, Philosophy, Psychology, etc)

The scholarship covers tuition fees, subsistence, and related allowances.

Upon successful completion of the undergraduate program, scholars will have the opportunity for employment in Bank Pembangunan, with a commitment to serve the Bank for up to six (6) years.

To apply, submit your application to BAGUS@bpmb.com.my before 15 July 2024.

Applications using forecast results from May 2024 onwards are accepted, with official results required once available. Shortlisted candidates will undergo assessments and interviews.

At Bank Pembangunan, we are committed to making a meaningful impact in our communities, with a focus on diversity and inclusivity. In line with this commitment, the BAGUS scholarship programme is also available for Asnaf students through zakat provision, ensuring that deserving students have the opportunity to pursue higher education without financial constraints. Our Group Shariah Management team oversees the scholarship programme's zakat provision, working directly with selected local universities to facilitate the process.

Preferred Universities in the United Kingdom:
  1. University of Oxford
  2. University of Cambridge
  3. Imperial College London
  4. University College London (UCL)
  5. University of Edinburgh
  6. King’s College London
  7. London School of Economics and Political Science
  8. University of Manchester
  9. University of Bristol
  10. University of Glasgow
  11. University of Southampton
  12. University of Birmingham
  13. University of Sheffield
  14. University of Warwick
  15. University of Leeds
  16. University of Nottingham
  17. Queen Mary University of London
  18. University of York
  19. Lancaster University
  20. University of Liverpool
  21. Newcastle University
  22. Durham University
  23. University of Exeter
  24. Cardiff University
  25. University of St Andrews
  26. University of Aberdeen
  27. University of Leicester
  28. Queen’s University Belfast
  29. University of Reading
  30. University of Sussex

Preferred Universities in the United States of America:
  1. Stanford University
  2. Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  3. Harvard University
  4. Princeton University
  5. California Institute of Technology
  6. University of California, Berkeley
  7. Yale University
  8. The University of Chicago
  9. Johns Hopkins University
  10. University of Pennsylvania
  11. Columbia University
  12. University of California, Los Angeles
  13. Cornell University
  14. University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
  15. Carnegie Mellon University
  16. University of Washington
  17. Duke University
  18. New York University
  19. Northwestern University
  20. University of California, San Diego
  21. Georgia Institute of Technology
  22. University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  23. University of Texas at Austin
  24. University of California, Davis
  25. University of Wisconsin-Madison
  26. Brown University
  27. Washington University in St Louis
  28. University of California, Santa Barbara
  29. University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  30. University of Southern California

Preferred Universities in Australia:
  1. University of Melbourne
  2. Monash University
  3. University of Sydney
  4. Australian National University
  5. The University of Queensland
  6. UNSW Sydney
  7. University of Adelaide
  8. The University of Western Australia
  9. University of Technology Sydney
  10. Macquarie University

Preferred Universities in Malaysia:
  1. Universiti Malaya (UM)
  2. Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM)
  3. Universiti Sains Malaysia (USM)
  4. Universiti Islam Antarabangsa (UIA/IIUM)

Submit your application to BAGUS@bpmb.com.my or to the address below:

BPMB Award of Group Undergraduate Scholarship (BAGUS)
Level 20, Menara Bank Pembangunan, Bandar Wawasan
1016, Jalan Sultan Ismail, 50250 Kuala Lumpur.
Tel: 03-2611 3888
Fax: 03-2698 4395

Apply now!